Mouths Wide Shut

Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat?

I am one of the most pickiest eater one can ever come across. My family is in an ever-present bind on what to cook for me. But maybe that’s because I hardly suger-coat my feedbacks and am quite blunt. Who knows?

Some of the things I absolutely detest :
Mushroom – Its a FUNGUS . ’nuff said!
Soya nuggets – I have always been wary of trying new stuff, and soya beans were introduced to me as frozen chicken(I was seven). Seriously. My hatred for deception matches my hatred for these sodden chunks.
Cauliflower – I simply don’t like them.

Then there are the usual ones, The Green Vegetables. Though, I love spinach ( Popeye The Sailor made sure of that). And I love olives, they complement every damn thing they are put in and they do awesome inside a sub.
Now, breaking stereotypes. I am a Bengali, a race of proud and prodigious fish eaters, and guess what I don’t eat? Fish. Or rather, seafood. Fish, prawns, crabs, oysters. You name it, I hate it.

I AM A CHICKEN LOVER. I am. Any dish containing chicken is loved my me. One of my favourite dishes, Mughlai, is a sort of triangular wrap containing egg, chicken, onions, capsicums and a whole lot of cheese. I can eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner and never get bored.

image

I have never tried beef, nor do I think I ever will. It has nothing to do with being Indian. For God’s sake! We do not worship cows. It is strange eating something that constitutes almost a quarter of your country’s population. Joking! But seriously, they are even a part of our traffic jams.
I can write a million things about my eccentric food habits and still come up with more. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

