The Unnatural Fear

There are a lot of things people, the ones who know of me, don’t know about me.

Among those things are a lot that I wouldn’t normally share. Although if I had to tell you something about myself that people don’t normally know, I would, with much reluctance, tell you about my strange and profound fear of things normal people normally like.

Like flowers. And birds. And some other strange things.

I have had Anthophobia for as long as I can remember. Many people tell me ” Why? What do you think they’ll do? They’re harmless!” I know that they pose no threat to my physical self but my nervous system is not aware of that yet, so I can’t do a thing except try to steer clear of those ridiculously frightening flowers.

Now, Ornithophobia is the fear of birds. I am afraid to be near them, around them, across them, under them if they’re flying low. And I swear that pigeons can smell my fear because everywhere I look I find them staring at me.
Have you seen the pictures where people visit a bird sanctuary and have exotic birds draped all over them? Well, I am a person who will never have a picture like that of her own. I’ll not go to the bird sanctuary in the first place.

Other than these pretty common and boring things (sarcasm), the other few include me being afraid of feathers ( Its not as intense as my phobias. I would probably be able to touch them if you dare me to, but if I encounter them without any prior warning I’ll probably scream), and me being afraid of butterflies.

Danke people. And ciao!

This post was in response to The Daily Prompt.

Posted from WordPress for Android

One comment

  1. Romina B · May 29, 2015

    Ah, that’s interesting! I’ve never met a person before that was afraid of the birds and flowers (although I could be afraid of vultures and big birds myself). I’m glad I found your blog through the daily post! Feel free to check out and comment on mine as well. Keep writing!

    -Romina @ http://www.dietyogaenergy.com

Leave a Reply

